Why I Serve

This week, in honor of our Opening Day on Friday, we will share stories from corps members, senior corps and staff about what drives us to pledge a year of service to the city of San José.  Today Corps Member Steven Johnson shares why he serves.

One of the reasons I chose to join City Year is that I feel like there are many problems we face as a country, a broken education system being one of them. Many times I see people who want to help speak out about today’s social issues without actually serving.

Corps Member Steven Johnson serves at Lee Mathson Middle School. He's from Chicago.

I saw this repeatedly during the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Back then I told myself that I would never face a social problem without doing something to help make it right. Last year I started turning words into action as I served with AmeriCorps NCCC (National Civilian Community Corps).  This year I’m proud to serve with City Year.

Many of my friends and family will never get the chance to serve to the extent that I do because of criminal pasts, death, or current incarceration.

This drives me even more, knowing that especially in the education field; I have the opportunity to change the mindset of young students who are having trouble staying on the right path.

Hopefully during this year and after I can help as many people as I can who are in need, so that later in life I won’t look back and say, “I wish I could have done something about that.”

These are only a few of the many reasons I chose to serve last year, this year, and will serve throughout the rest of my life.

-Steven Johnson, Corps Member CYSJ

3 thoughts on “Why I Serve

Leave a Reply

