Farewell City Year San Jose

You’ll often hear City Year corps members and alums talk about their service as one of the most transformative experiences of their life. I can only agree.

Before City Year, I didn’t know what it truly meant to give myself to someone else. I didn’t know what it felt like to live with a shared purpose. And I certainly didn’t know how to convince a seventh grader to do their homework.

One of the biggest lessons I will take away from my City Year experience is the process of going from a “me” to a “we” mentality. I’m the type of person who likes to get things done on my own, but City Year has taught me that if I want to accomplish something truly sustainable and worthwhile, it takes a great team.

Something that I have been passionate about for a long time is communication. During my time with City Year San Jose/Silicon Valley, this manifested into a social media management role which has forever changed how I communicate and view the world.

This very blog was my outlet to share not only my experiences in service, but the experiences of others. Corps members may have teased me about how I always immediately asked them to write a blog post when I heard about a starfish story or a great enrichment that they were doing; but I’m so grateful that they humored me and shared their stories, ultimately our stories, with you.

So thank you to everyone who contributed to the blog, read the blog, re-tweeted posts, etc.

And thank you to the corps members of City Year San Jose/Silicon Valley. You inspired me each and every day and I know that the stories of your service has touched the lives of others.

Megan Baker, City Year San Jose/Silicon Valley Alum ’10-’11

One thought on “Farewell City Year San Jose

Leave a Reply

