Volunteering at the MACLA Art Auction

Andres Posada is a corps member serving on the Applied Materials Team at Lee Mathson Middle School.

This past Saturday evening, I was given the opportunity to help out with an art auction at MACLA (Movimiento de Arte y Cultura Latino Americana), and I had a fantastic time doing so.

When MACLA asked City Year to help with the event, they said that volunteers might have to channel their inner Vanna White.  Being that I’ve watched a fair share of Wheel of Fortune in my Day, I knew I’d be up to the task.

I, along with four other volunteers, were responsible for displaying art pieces of various shapes and sizes by carrying them down the center aisle of the display room. Equipped with cloth gloves so as not to leave any prints on the artwork, I took art piece after art piece off of the walls of the room, in preparation for my walk up and down the “art-walk.”

If you ever have the chance to go to a live auction, do it!  The auctioneer kept the crowd on edge with his sharp wit and non-stop talk, and there was never a dull moment throughout the night.

The highlight of the event for me have to have been when mid-auction, there was a pause to call for the support of a trip MACLA would be leading to San Francisco, where young poets would be competing in a poetry slam held by an organization called Brave New Voices. I was amazed at the excitement and enthusiasm displayed by the crowd in support of such an awesome cause.

In one of the introductory blurbs to one of the pieces, the phrase ‘site-specific art’ came up, and it really resonated with me.  A piece that is site-specific is a piece done by an artist who has really tried to engage his environment in the creation of his work, something that we should seek to encourage more and more as civically engaged citizens.

Thank you to City Year and to MACLA for giving me the opportunity to be part of this event!

To get an idea of the types of art that was sold at the auction, check out photos of the art that was auctioned last year via Flickr.

Andres Posada, Corps Member CYSJ

Leave a Reply

